The 301 Redirect may be used when you want to send traffic from any outdated URLs on your site to the new page. This option automatically sends site visitors to a different URL than the one they originally typed into their browser or selected from a search engine results page. It also redirects the search engines to crawl and index the newest page.

You can set the 301 Redirect within a single site only. For example, you used to have a page with the URL domain.com/services. You deleted it and created a new one — domain.com/products. In order not to lose traffic, you can add the link to the previous page in the 301 Redirect in the new page's settings. Therefore, upon clicking on domain.com/services, visitors will automatically land on domain.com/products.

Setting 301 Redirects

Firstly, open the site's editor and navigate to the pages menu in the toolbar:



Choose the page where your site visitors should land, access its settings by clicking on the gear and navigate to the SEO tab:



Turn on the option Set redirect from other URLs and enter the page URL where the redirect will be from:



Important: for the redirect to work, the previous page must be inactive.

Click Done and publish the changes.

Tip: by default, the page name in the editor becomes its URL. Check the article Changing page URL for more detailed information on how you can set up a unique URL for your page.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!